Submit a Help Request (804) 828-2227 | itsc@vcu.edu

Improving the deduplication flow when uploading to Google Drive

September 29, 2016

In the Chrome Browser when you upload files that have the same filename as an existing file, they’ll be deduplicated, and the old file will be in the revision history (for more information on revision history:https://goo.gl/CDYnYA). This is so that if any mistakes are made, users can get back to the previous version. Similarly, uploaded folders will be merged with folders of the same name.


To prevent the files from being deduplicated, click on “Keep as separate file” once it’s been uploaded.